Confessions of a Facebook Dropout

Image

I’m the sort of girl who likes getting ready for a party more than actually going; who thinks that Buffy the Vampire Slayer shouldn’t have been cancelled, who keeps Archiecomics in the bathroom next to the toilet, who doodles random sketches all over binders and notebooks, and who’s ideal day would be spent mostly alone, sleeping, eating, and writing stuff.

I know what you’re probably thinking right now: “What a loner.” Although I’m not a loner in the most typical sense, (I’m afraid of cats), I like being alone when I’m in a creative mood. And, as you can probably tell, I’m usually in a creative mood. Problem is, when I am in one of those moods, I usually don’t spend it being creative. Instead, I sometimes opt to watch reruns of What not to Wear, or Extreme Makeover: Weightloss Edition. What’s left of my free-time (on the rare occasions I can steal any), was spent on Facebook.

Now, don’t get me wrong; I am aware that when I opened up safari, and typed in “f” (Google already knows what I mean- I swear it knows EVERYTHING) and then hit “enter”, that was all me. Two years of practice had cemented this routine into my subconcious. Sometimes I went onto the computer after school to look something up for homework, and, next thing I knew, I was on Facebook; I wasn’t even aware of logging in. Hell, I still do it sometimes, and it’s been five months.

I admire Facebook, since it can be a great tool to contact friends no matter how far away they live; businesses even use it to promote their stuff and make contacts– there’s no doubt in my mind that it’s an incredible way for us to do all these things, instead of the olden days where you’d scribble something on a dirty scrap of paper, and then give it to some sketchy dude on a horse and ask him to ride x amount of miles as soon as possible (we’re talking probably a week or two depending on the weather), and then give it to so-and-so, just hoping it’s not too late.

Today, on Facebook, with just a couple rapid-fire movments of our fingertips, we can send any length or type of information to anyone at any corner of the globe (so long as there’s wifi). We can, and usually do, send messages even faster than the time we take to think them through. (This usually leads to misunderstandings and fighting, or correct understandings and fighting anyway because of thoughtlessness on the part of the sender).

But, before we get off topic, let’s not delude ourselves by saying we only use facebook for long-distance contacts. We all know that we message contacts on facebook who not only live in our city, but often people who we even have as phone contacts, who, with our phone plans, we could text free of charge, or even… call! (OH THE HORROR!)

So why do we still use Facebook to talk to them? Because it’s easier to type on a computer, because it’s nice to message someone when you know they’re online, because you’re afraid to ask for their number, because it’d be awkward to text them but for some reason it’s socially acceptable to message them… there are tons of reasons. I understand them all. Facebook is a fast, easy, socially acceptable way to add, manage and keep in touch with contacts near and far.

So then why? Why would anyone take such a remarkable invention for granted, and choose instead to live a Facebook-deprived life, where, in order to contact people long-distance, you’d have to send a -GASP- letter?!

My answer to this is Skype. (or ichat, facetime.. things like that) . Skype is equally good at easy, fast delivery of text and images, and it also tells you when contacts are online. The video messaging is even better quality.

So what is the difference between Skype and Facebook then, if both can match each other exactly for information, music and photo-sharing speed and ability?

The answer to that question, is the reason why I discontinued my Facebook account.

Exhibitionism.

In a nutshell, facebook facilitates and even encourages the worst of human nature.

If you’re still determined to keep your account, that’s fine with me, but just ask yourself this:

How long do you think you could go without it if you tried?

Image

Leave a Reply

